APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post Reply
Bowling Pin
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:09 am

APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Bowling Pin » Fri May 01, 2009 7:14 am

I'm not sure what's going on. I'm running Vista Home and the game was running fine as soon as I installed it (although I did encounter some difficulty installing the game as well before it suddenly worked). I googled StackHash and I heard that this was a common problem related to Data Execution Prevention, which can be modified under the System properties in Control Panel, and with the Java cache, but I've exempted the demo from DPE processes and cleared my Java cache to no avail. Has anyone else experienced this? I've got a few other Ren'Py games and they're running fine.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Katawa Shoujo Act 1.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4917df95
Fault Module Name: StackHash_eb97
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 94820000
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: eb97
Additional Information 2: 19103675ae6dbc8898785310e0b5fdca
Additional Information 3: 142e
Additional Information 4: d6860aa4949c7279b1d8dc527abc39df

User avatar
PyTom
Programming/Tech
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by PyTom » Fri May 01, 2009 1:21 pm

Are you running a 32 or 64 bit version of vista?
Ren'Py Creator - KS Forum Host

Bowling Pin
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:09 am

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Bowling Pin » Fri May 01, 2009 2:02 pm

It's 32-bit.

Bowling Pin
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:09 am

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Bowling Pin » Fri May 01, 2009 7:48 pm

Alright, here's the traceback I got for launching the demo straight from Ren'Py.
I'm sorry, but an exception occured while executing your Ren'Py
script.

Exception: pixellate requires a 24 or 32 bit surface.

After initialization, but before game start.

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

File "C:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Vidya Gaems\renpy-6.6.3\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 255, in bootstrap
File "C:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Vidya Gaems\renpy-6.6.3\renpy\main.py", line 297, in main
File "C:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Vidya Gaems\renpy-6.6.3\renpy\display\core.py", line 1091, in __init__
File "C:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Vidya Gaems\renpy-6.6.3\renpy\display\core.py", line 708, in __init__
File "C:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Vidya Gaems\renpy-6.6.3\renpy\display\scale.py", line 123, in real_smoothscale
File "_renpy.pyx", line 118, in _renpy.pixellate
Exception: pixellate requires a 24 or 32 bit surface.

After initialization, but before game start.

Ren'Py Version: Ren'Py 6.9.1h

Smiley

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Smiley » Fri May 08, 2009 4:26 am

I'm having the same problem with my 32-bit Home Premium. The game crashes as soon as I start it. :cry:

User avatar
PyTom
Programming/Tech
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Contact:

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by PyTom » Fri May 08, 2009 12:54 pm

Can you try Ren'Py 6.9.2 from http://www.renpy.org?
Ren'Py Creator - KS Forum Host

Smiley

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Smiley » Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:59 am

I solved the problem somehow...don't know how though... sorry :P I'm trying to find out what I did, so it worked. I'm reporting as soon as I find out what I did.

Smiley

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Smiley » Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:15 am

Strange...I uninstalled and installed it again, so that it would crash again, but this time it's working perfectly fine. No crashes when I start it. Maybe the last windows update have something to do with it?

Smiley

Re: APPCRASH/StackHash_eb97 as soon as the demo launches.

Post by Smiley » Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:49 pm

Ah! I remember now! The game was crashing whenever I opened it with the shortcut. When I opened it with the original data in the installation folder everything worked. I hope that helps in some way.

Post Reply