Roasted Cinnamon

WORDS WORDS WORDS

Maristo

Roasted Cinnamon

Post by Maristo »

Roasted Cinnamon is a Hanako-focused alternative universe Katawa Shoujo fan fiction. While it does follow the timeline of events set out by the game to some extent, it will deviate significantly from established canon in some areas. This is not intended to be a simple retelling of the Hanako route from her perspective.

For me, this is an experiment. It is my first attempt at writing fan fiction, Katawa Shoujo or otherwise. It has been many years since I have written fiction of any sort, and even longer since I have written for pleasure. As many others before me, I was inspired by Katawa Shoujo to reevaluate my life, and this writing is an attempt to exercise my oft-neglected creative side. I've played around over the last few months with various ideas, but all of them involved projects even more ambitious than this. I was encouraged by a veteran forum member to start small. This story hardly qualifies, but it is the idea I felt most comfortable attempting to flesh out. We'll see how it goes. I hope to update regularly, but guarantee nothing.

Index

Chapter 1
Last edited by Maristo on Sat Jun 14, 2014 12:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Maristo

Chapter 1

Post by Maristo »

9:00am, July 10, 2007
Arimuracho, Japan

A plume of ash stretches high into the clear summer sky. Reclining comfortably in the shade cast by the balcony above them, two men gaze lazily upon the calm waters of Kagoshima Bay. The younger man turns and stretches, his eyes tracing the column of debris that extends from the peak of Mt. Sakurajima.

“The mountain seems quiet today,” he muses.
His companion, a grouchy-looking portly old man, merely grunts in response.

“It’s nice to have a break after the last few days,” the younger man continues. “I was starting to get a b-“