Would this be a better game if there was less of it?

A forum for general discussion of the game: Open to all punters

How many hours did your first play through take?

0 - 10
66%
11 - 20
20%
21 - 30
8%
31 - 40
3%
41+
3%

Total votes: 71

goodman528

Would this be a better game if there was less of it?

Post by goodman528 »

I'm new to the visual novel experience, it is good having matching music and colorful visuals, I feel this media has a lot of potential to tell some very good stories. i like the music and graphics of Katawa shoujo very much, and it is very well presented. I am about 2 hours through the story, and I have just got into ACT II... ... That in itself isn't a problem, after all I would happily take 10 hours to read a 600 page book. The problem is that most of the descriptions and dialogue are entirely pointless and redundant. I really feel there is too much small talk and chatting, and descriptions of everyone's expressions while chatting. Is that really necessary?! I'm now thinking of putting it on auto skip and watch the movie and gallery later to piece together a story, that seems a lot more interesting than watching paint dry (and yes, watching the paint dry is the more most interesting development in the story so far).

At this point I think my character is a complete moron with an IQ lower than Forrest Gump, because not only can't he figure out anything, but even after being told something he still needs a few sentences worth of thinking to tell himself, oh yes, that is how it is. Also all of the girls are becoming annoying because they just talk so much, I feel the urge to slap Misha and Emi, and just tell them if they have nothing worthwhile to say then just shut the **** up.

I feel this would probably have been an amazing experience if they took more time producing it, and put in the effort to edit out about 90% of the content. A good book is not one where you have nothing more to add, but one where you have nothing more to edit out.