Learning Japanese.... Who is into it?

A forum for general discussion of the game: Open to all punters

dragonloverx

Learning Japanese.... Who is into it?

Post by dragonloverx »

I am trying to learn Japanese. I like the music the video games and the visual novels, but most seem to be in their language. I am studying the language and learning it… very slowly. My lab partner in one of my classes is from Japan and she says my pronunciation is very good, but the real problem is remembering what the words mean; also learning how to read in Japanese, since so many games and visual novels use that text. Who else is trying to learn Japanese and if so how is it going?
EternalLurker

Re: Learning Japanese.... Who is into it?

Post by EternalLurker »

Yeah, perfect pronunciation isn't particularly promotive of improved......um.....comprehension....of the written language. Crap. Was on a semi-accidental roll there.
whiteflags

Post by whiteflags »

I tried to do it by myself since I can't really find a class to take at college. Didn't work for obvious reasons.
Yeah, perfect pronunciation isn't particularly promotive of improved......um.....comprehension....of the written language.
proficiency in
X is scientifically proven to Y.
dragonloverx

Post by dragonloverx »

Well I have tried different books and audio lessons but none of them worked. I am using that Rosetta Stone program now. It seems to work pretty good and I was doing rather well, but I slacked off a bit and now it is hard to get back into, I have decided to start over again. It seems to be working but as you go it gets harder. Of course my Japanese friend told me she thought is would be easier to learn English than Japanese…. well at least she was honest.
Captain Niggawatts

Post by Captain Niggawatts »

dragonloverx wrote:Of course my Japanese friend told me she thought is would be easier to learn English than Japanese…. well at least she was honest.