Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

A forum for general discussion of the game: Open to all punters
green_shadow622
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by green_shadow622 » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:22 am

Diddlemuffins wrote:
green_shadow622 wrote:
Diddlemuffins wrote:You mean where you go when you push "Ctrl+Alt+Del"? I can't find a status for my background programs there, just the things that come up on my main taskbar.
You can right-click on your taskbar, and click on "Start Task Manager," Then go under the performance tab.
Okay, I think I get where you're going with this. This program will divert any kind of attention my computer can spare then? It's at 53% right now so I'm assuming it isn't running right. I have 5 of the icon in my background applications right now. I'm thinking another one might have come up every time I tried to click the shortcut. Perhaps I've accidentally confused the program and it can't run at it's full potential. Should I close the extra ones (only one says something besides 0/250)?
Yes. Also, as for why it's at 53%, I'm guessing you're not using an SMP version, and that your computer is a dual-core. I have to go now, unfortunately, so I won't be able to help you set up the SMP version, if you so wish for it, but there's a fine tutorial on how it's done at the link below. Good luck!

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGuide

User avatar
SirRazer
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by SirRazer » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:04 am

Well, I'm running the singlecore-client (or what the standard-client is) on a quadcore, so I can set it to 100% and still do work while it's folding in teh background. This way I can run it at work.

Was trying to run teh GPU client, but my GPU started making strange noises...gave me tinnitus after a while, so I switched back to the CPU client.
(Afterthought: Maybe I was waking the wrong GPU client? there are 3 different...)

User avatar
Mirage_GSM
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 2:24 am
Location: Germany

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Mirage_GSM » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:40 am

Setting it to 100% means it will try to use 100% of the not allocated computing power.
You can still do other work, even on a single core computer. The client will automatically scale down when another process is started.
Emi > Misha > Hanako > Lilly > Rin > Shizune

My collected KS-Fan Fictions: Mirage's Myths
griffon8 wrote:Kosher, just because sex is your answer to everything doesn't mean that sex is the answer to everything.
Sore wa himitsu desu.

green_shadow622
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by green_shadow622 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:11 am

SirRazer wrote:Well, I'm running the singlecore-client (or what the standard-client is) on a quadcore, so I can set it to 100% and still do work while it's folding in teh background. This way I can run it at work.

Was trying to run teh GPU client, but my GPU started making strange noises...gave me tinnitus after a while, so I switched back to the CPU client.
(Afterthought: Maybe I was waking the wrong GPU client? there are 3 different...)
Yeah, I know what you mean about your GPU making strange noises, mine has done that occasionally as well. But it hasn't done any damage to mine, so I wouldn't worry too much. Unless you just can't stand the noise. As for your above comment, when it uses 100%, it means it will aim for your CPU to always be maxed out, but it will do its best to not get in the way of other programs. Meaning it uses only the cycles that you don't already use yourself. If you're that worried, you can always just lower the usage to 90% or something, that way, you'll always have a 10% buffer at the top.

User avatar
SirRazer
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by SirRazer » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:31 am

Mirage_GSM wrote:Setting it to 100% means it will try to use 100% of the not allocated computing power.
You can still do other work, even on a single core computer. The client will automatically scale down when another process is started.
Ah, okay. I read that somewhere but forgot ^^ Thx for reminding.

green_shadow622 wrote:
Yeah, I know what you mean about your GPU making strange noises, mine has done that occasionally as well. But it hasn't done any damage to mine, so I wouldn't worry too much. Unless you just can't stand the noise. As for your above comment, when it uses 100%, it means it will aim for your CPU to always be maxed out, but it will do its best to not get in the way of other programs. Meaning it uses only the cycles that you don't already use yourself. If you're that worried, you can always just lower the usage to 90% or something, that way, you'll always have a 10% buffer at the top.
Well, since my desktop pc stands in the room where I am most of the time when I'm not at work...yeah, the noise is a bit disturbing. :?

Well, I don't get any lags or something like that with setting it to 100%, so it should be fine. None of the four cores are ever over 50%....just two or three at 30% at the same time.
The only thing that bothers/amazes me is the difference in time that my pc (~4 years old) and my laptop (0,5-1 year old) need for a WU....I'm really looking forward to my new CPU which I have ordered. :lol:

green_shadow622
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by green_shadow622 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:45 pm

SirRazer wrote:Well, I don't get any lags or something like that with setting it to 100%, so it should be fine. None of the four cores are ever over 50%....just two or three at 30% at the same time.
That would be because you're using a single core client. A multi-core client would utilize more of your cpu. But you seem satisfied with what you have, so no big deal.

Grismund
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:06 pm

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Grismund » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:15 pm

im actually using the v7 open beta client on a amd 3.2 six-core and Im actually quite happy with how easy it is to use, plus its nice seeing my CPU usage above 17% for once
also thanks guys for bringing my attention to this awesome project in the first place, always nice to use spare resources towards something beneficial

User avatar
AapoAlas
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:35 am
Location: Finland

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by AapoAlas » Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:06 am

I just went and installed the nVidia-GPU version of F@H onto my Linux Desktop and joined the team. So far no idea how I'll see my own stats but I guess I'll get there in due time...
Nothing to be seen here. Do check out my little dabbling in the art of words, though.

User avatar
Ensi
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:48 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Ensi » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:47 pm

Just installed the main single-cpu version and it's running alright. I have a quad so it kind of just uses 25% of my total power overall.

I have some questions some of you probably can answer (the FAQ was a bit confusing):

1. The GPU client, it works in the same way as the CPU client only with just the GPU?
2. Can you combine the two? Let's say I want to have 2 cores on my CPU folding and also my GPU at the same time. How can I do this?
3. What GPU do you have to have in order to use it for folding? I have a GTX275 with CUDA (guess I should be alright?)
4. If i'm not mistaken, leaving it at 100% will make it chew all free and available CPU/GPU power? And can I choose how many cores will be working with the multicore client?
5. I can easily pause it if I want using the pause work, quit the application, and resume at my latest "checkpoint" when I start it up again?

:)
WITH THE DOWHOP DIDDLY DOO SHLAPPAH CLAPPAH MAFFAH WHOOGLY A SHING SHONG SHAMMA LAMMA

Palodin
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:03 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Palodin » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Ensi wrote:Just installed the main single-cpu version and it's running alright. I have a quad so it kind of just uses 25% of my total power overall.

I have some questions some of you probably can answer (the FAQ was a bit confusing):

1. The GPU client, it works in the same way as the CPU client only with just the GPU?
2. Can you combine the two? Let's say I want to have 2 cores on my CPU folding and also my GPU at the same time. How can I do this?
3. What GPU do you have to have in order to use it for folding? I have a GTX275 with CUDA (guess I should be alright?)
4. If i'm not mistaken, leaving it at 100% will make it chew all free and available CPU/GPU power? And can I choose how many cores will be working with the multicore client?
5. I can easily pause it if I want using the pause work, quit the application, and resume at my latest "checkpoint" when I start it up again?

:)
1) Essentially, yes. A lot faster, I can say that much. My GPU client can chew through 6-7 WU's a day no problem if I let it.
2) GPU and Multicore client at the same time? I'm not sure really. I know GPU plays nicely with the single core client but I couldn't say about Multicore.
3) GTX275 should be fine, pretty sure I did it for a while on the 260 so you shouldn't have an issue
4) As much as it can, yes. The GPU client seems to be a bit greedy though, I'd suggest turning it off if you plan on gaming. Not sure about the multicore client, never used it, only the basic CPU one
5) Just close the application, you won't have lost much when you load it back up

User avatar
Ensi
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:48 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Ensi » Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:27 pm

Palodin wrote: 1) Essentially, yes. A lot faster, I can say that much. My GPU client can chew through 6-7 WU's a day no problem if I let it.
2) GPU and Multicore client at the same time? I'm not sure really. I know GPU plays nicely with the single core client but I couldn't say about Multicore.
3) GTX275 should be fine, pretty sure I did it for a while on the 260 so you shouldn't have an issue
4) As much as it can, yes. The GPU client seems to be a bit greedy though, I'd suggest turning it off if you plan on gaming. Not sure about the multicore client, never used it, only the basic CPU one
5) Just close the application, you won't have lost much when you load it back up
Thank you! Appreciate it :)

Image
WITH THE DOWHOP DIDDLY DOO SHLAPPAH CLAPPAH MAFFAH WHOOGLY A SHING SHONG SHAMMA LAMMA

User avatar
sirdakz03
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:34 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by sirdakz03 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:21 pm

Palodin wrote:
1) Essentially, yes. A lot faster, I can say that much. My GPU client can chew through 6-7 WU's a day no problem if I let it.
2) GPU and Multicore client at the same time? I'm not sure really. I know GPU plays nicely with the single core client but I couldn't say about Multicore.
3) GTX275 should be fine, pretty sure I did it for a while on the 260 so you shouldn't have an issue
4) As much as it can, yes. The GPU client seems to be a bit greedy though, I'd suggest turning it off if you plan on gaming. Not sure about the multicore client, never used it, only the basic CPU one
5) Just close the application, you won't have lost much when you load it back up
Been running SMP and GPU clients since day one. It's not at all bad, GPU client only has a tiny bit of processing to do for the CPU. All in all, I have the ordinary Single-core client, SMP and GPU client running at the same time.
Image

green_shadow622
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by green_shadow622 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:00 pm

Ensi wrote:Just installed the main single-cpu version and it's running alright. I have a quad so it kind of just uses 25% of my total power overall.

I have some questions some of you probably can answer (the FAQ was a bit confusing):

1. The GPU client, it works in the same way as the CPU client only with just the GPU?
2. Can you combine the two? Let's say I want to have 2 cores on my CPU folding and also my GPU at the same time. How can I do this?
3. What GPU do you have to have in order to use it for folding? I have a GTX275 with CUDA (guess I should be alright?)
4. If i'm not mistaken, leaving it at 100% will make it chew all free and available CPU/GPU power? And can I choose how many cores will be working with the multicore client?
5. I can easily pause it if I want using the pause work, quit the application, and resume at my latest "checkpoint" when I start it up again?

:)
1. Pretty much, yes. It's just much faster.
2. I did that for a long time. There's absolutely no issue there. You could also get the new beta client, which combines the two into a single, easy-to-use application. (it's what I do, and I find it MUCH simpler to use than the old version)
3. That's going to be fine. You've got more than plenty for folding.
4. Yes, leaving it at 100% uses all the free and available computing power. But no, you can't choose how many cores will be running with the multicore client. At least, I'm pretty sure, I never tried to *not* have a core running though.
5. If you're using the old versions, you can just turn it off, then turn it back on later and you won't have lost much. If you're using the beta version, you can just pause any ongoing work at any time you feel like it with a click of a button.

User avatar
guest2
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:21 pm

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by guest2 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:55 am

Welp. Just jumped ship from folding for the USAF. よろしく!
Katawa Shoujo Piano Sheet Music Project
"Jellyfish are like people to me" - Me
"OH GOD MAH DRILLS" - yipyapper

Bagheera
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:53 pm

Re: Katawa Shoujo Folding@Home Team

Post by Bagheera » Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:45 am

I'm sure this has been asked before, but since there are three years' worth of replies and fifty pages to the thread I hope y'all will indulge me:

I joined last night and want to set up one of those nifty .sig images. How often are team rosters updated? I don't seem to be on the team page as of yet, and nor do I have a user id (at least not so far as I know). Do I need to do something to refresh the page or should I just be patient?
Girls: Emi = Misha > Hanako > Lilly > Shizune = Rin
Routes: Rin = Shizune > Emi > Lilly = Hanako


Post Reply