Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

A forum for general discussion of the game: Open to all punters
User avatar
EvilDragon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:46 pm

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by EvilDragon » Wed May 13, 2009 6:55 pm

Yes, but both ME and 2000 suck ass compared to XP with tweaked services and stuff.

User avatar
Validus Razgriz
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:44 am
Location: United States

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Validus Razgriz » Wed May 13, 2009 7:07 pm

EvilDragon wrote:Yes, but both ME and 2000 suck ass compared to XP with tweaked services and stuff.
Win 2000 is a good OS. The only Windows that suck are Vista, ME, and any pre-95 version. I'm currently waiting to see a general release of Windows 7 before I buy a new gaming rig.

...and this is coming from someone who uses Ubuntu Linux on their main computer.
"We all suffer from the preoccupation that there exists... in the loved one, perfection."

User avatar
EvilDragon
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:46 pm

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by EvilDragon » Wed May 13, 2009 8:02 pm

Hey. Win 3.11 were the most stable Windows. Ever.

Pato2747
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Pato2747 » Wed May 13, 2009 9:11 pm

Windows XP Pro

Intel Dual-Core @1.8 GHz

1 GB RAM (Heavily used with ~600 MB when idle)

GForce 8500 GT.

Plays wonderfully.

User avatar
A Simple Fox
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 12:58 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by A Simple Fox » Wed May 13, 2009 10:07 pm

EvilDragon wrote:Hey. Win 3.11 were the most stable Windows. Ever.
So very true. I NEVER EVER EVER had a single problem with my 3.11. I surfed all over the internet on AOL 3.0. I never had a firewall or antiviral on it. same with my 95 and 98. Things went downhill quick with my XP, and I don't even want to talk about my vista... :roll:

Now I don't go anywhere without 2 firewalls and my anti-virus on "search and destroy" mode. Times have changed i guess. :(

That's it! I'm taking my 3.11 out and booting it back up. If anyone wants any paperwork from me they better have a floppy drive! :P
"A person who knows but a little will put on an air of knowledge. This is a matter of inexperience. When someone knows something well, it will not be seen in his manner. This person is genteel." - Yamamoto Tsunetomo

User avatar
Validus Razgriz
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:44 am
Location: United States

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Validus Razgriz » Wed May 13, 2009 11:25 pm

EvilDragon wrote:Hey. Win 3.11 were the most stable Windows. Ever.
I was using a Commodore Amiga 500 with Amiga OS 3.1 at the time that operating system was out. I still have that computer and it still works flawlessly.

I checked out Win 3.1 a few years ago. Wasn't too impressed with it, even considering when it was made. I would have prefered just using MS-DOS 6.22 by itself at the time.
"We all suffer from the preoccupation that there exists... in the loved one, perfection."

User avatar
K_Amelia
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:24 am

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by K_Amelia » Sat Jun 20, 2009 8:30 am

Sorry to necro this thread, but I think I might just be able to beat the saddest specs yet . . .

Pentium III 850mhz
384mb Ram
40gb HD
Win2k Pro
Geforce 4 420MX on a 2x AGP slot.

I know it sucks, and it isn't set up for sound, but it DOES run the demo fairly well, although the installer took a LONG time to start.

User avatar
Nightdragon
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Nightdragon » Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:49 am

Windows Vista Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Duo T5550 @1.83 GHz
3 GB of RAM
32 bit operating system

Works fine on my laptop. Can't remember exactly, but I know its no more then 2 years old. Still, I wish I could have XP instead of Vista...oh well, it was a present, so I'm not going to complain.

User avatar
simpleDvorak
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:54 am
Location: Can-Eh-Da
Contact:

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by simpleDvorak » Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:17 am

Laptop:
Vista, Home Premium, SP2. (Because I'm too lazy to install the Windows7 Beta, even after I downloaded it.)
4GB RAM
Intel Core2Duo T9300 2.5GHz
DirectX 10
nVidia GeForce 8600M GT

Desktop:
XP, Professional, SP3.
1GB RAM
DirectX 9.0c
nVidia GeForce FX5500
The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy has this to say on the subject of flying.
There is an art, it says, or rather a knack to flying.
The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.
Image

User avatar
Ambi07
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:01 am

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Ambi07 » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:46 am

I ran it on a 500mhz computer with 256mb ram and it worked, just a bit sluggish. Especially at the effects (AKA Froze for seconds at a time and had to skip it).

User avatar
Synoptic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 11:48 am
Location: Sibiu - Romania

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Synoptic » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:49 am

AMD Athlon - 1300 MHz
512 MB SDRAM - 100 MHz freq
Nvidia GeForce MMX - 64 MB
Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2

10 years old system

Most of the game runs smoothly but the fireworks, snowflakes, the medical word onslaught, and the crowd background effects run choppy. :|

Not unplayable though... it's still enjoyable... a lot. :)
"...!"

User avatar
Eligre
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:32 pm

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Eligre » Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:22 am

3 year old system:

2 gigahertz processor, 2 core,
3 gigs of ram
A few hundred gigs of space left from the terabyte I started with
Radeon X1950Pro

On Old Faithful here it runs smoothly even in Shizune's Fireworks. I don't know what everyone else was talking about when they said they had issues with it, really...
...Not that my avvy is suggesting anything about Katawa Shoujo. I hope.

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:04 am
Location: Southern Europe

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Juno » Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:21 pm

Eligre wrote:On Old Faithful here it runs smoothly even in Shizune's Fireworks. I don't know what everyone else was talking about when they said they had issues with it, really...
Because your computer is much more than enough for anything Python. Go try an early Pentium IV or somesuch and you'll see it struggle.

User avatar
Validus Razgriz
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:44 am
Location: United States

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Validus Razgriz » Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:20 pm

Eligre wrote:On Old Faithful here it runs smoothly even in Shizune's Fireworks. I don't know what everyone else was talking about when they said they had issues with it, really...
That's because your computer is one of the better ones listed in this thread. My Win XP machine has 1/6 the RAM of yours, a single core processor instead of a dual core one, plus a built in video card. I wouldn't expect your computer to have any problems.
"We all suffer from the preoccupation that there exists... in the loved one, perfection."

User avatar
Synoptic
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 11:48 am
Location: Sibiu - Romania

Re: Benchmarking: Let's see the minimum requirements to play.

Post by Synoptic » Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:51 pm

Eligre wrote:3 year old system:

2 gigahertz processor, 2 core,
3 gigs of ram
A few hundred gigs of space left from the terabyte I started with
Radeon X1950Pro

On Old Faithful here it runs smoothly even in Shizune's Fireworks. I don't know what everyone else was talking about when they said they had issues with it, really...

Showoff :D
"...!"

Post Reply