A Left Eye of Darkness ('Convent Girl' up 20180527)

WORDS WORDS WORDS

brythain

A Left Eye of Darkness ('Convent Girl' up 20180527)

Post by brythain »

Introduction

Greetings, reader-san. I'm a reluctant writer. I prefer to record things with devices, to seize images with my lens. People tell me I sound literary. These are people who have not known my friend Hanako Ikezawa.

The only reason I'm setting these odd little writings down in this thread is that my friend Natsume Ooe told me I should. That worthy person is a power in her own right; if she were as brutal as Shizune Hakamichi, she would be terrifying. What she is, however, is persistent. She pushes gently but firmly until things move. This is a habit from her own personal life.

In my time, I've seen many things. I am not really a journalist nor a reporter, because the nature of art is that one sees with an internal bias. I have a desire to tell a story from the limited bits of truth that I think I see. I try to make that story as true as it can be, but some stories are too complicated for truth and desire. So I will just tell you my stories, the stories of people I have spoken to and known, and you can judge for yourself.

There's no real need for you to know me; my personal life is unremarkable and fairly happy. I am just the eye that sees, and I leave it to Natsume to form my scribblings into something you can read. They are not things you will find on ASN; I think very long ago she decided my material was interesting but not the stuff of public news. Accordingly, she will enter them in the index below and add the output to this thread. If you read these notes, I thank you for taking the time: time is precious, we have so little of it, and yet you have given that much. May you have much enjoyment in return.

=====

Reports (in chronological order):

2007: First Class
2014: The Satou Legacy
2018: The Hakamichi Secret
2022: The Katayama Mystique
2023: The Colonel's Bequest
2024: Chemistry