Japanese language Q&A

A forum for general discussion of the game: Open to all punters

Mirage_GSM

Japanese language Q&A

Post by Mirage_GSM »

A few people had questions about the Japanese language and pronunciation, so instead of misusing the fanfiction thread where the question came up, I thought I’d create a thread for it.
For starters I wrote a little bit about the different writing systems and linked to a pronunciation guide I wrote some time ago.
I’ll try to answer any questions that might come up to the best of my knowledge and link the new post in the OP – likewise if someone else volunteers an answer. I know we have a few natives lurking on the forum.
As for my qualifications, I am by no means fluent in the language, but I’ve been learning it for a few years now, and I’ve found it is enough to get by in Japan.

Table of Contents
The Writing System
Pronunciation
Pronunciation of the names in KS
Last edited by Mirage_GSM on Tue Dec 02, 2014 7:00 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Emi > Misha > Hanako > Lilly > Rin > Shizune

My collected KS-Fan Fictions: Mirage's Myths
griffon8 wrote:Kosher, just because sex is your answer to everything doesn't mean that sex is the answer to everything.
Sore wa himitsu desu.
Mirage_GSM

Re: Japanese language Q&A

Post by Mirage_GSM »

The Writing System
The Japanese language knows three different writing systems – four if you count the latin alphabet (romaji).
Kanji are a logographic script adopted from Chinese. Modern Japanese uses 2.136 different Kanji with anything from one to half a dozen different readings each. This is a topic for another day.
Besides the Kanji there are two different syllabaries: Hiragana and Katakana.
Both contain the same five vowels, 40 syllables and one consonant, but the symbols are different as are the situations in which they are used.

The vowels used in Hiragana are:
あ い う え お (a i u e o)

The other syllables are:
か き く け こ (ka, ki, ku, ke, ko)
さ し す せ そ (sa, shi, su, se, so)